Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication f what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer.

It is believed that common hobbies are picked up based greater on their popularity than on what people really want to do in their free time. In my opinion, it is true that the latest trends do have the influence on what people choose to enjoy leisurely, however, individuals will decide to continue following their own preferences. Firstly, it is inevitable that due to the advances of media, people are always updated with the newest trends, and whatever becomes the hot topics on social media such as TikTok is perceived to be desirable by the majority. For example, people flock into candle making after seeing some influencers having fun with it on Tiktok, or the numbers of people trying dance after watching dance challenges led by Kpop idols surges significantly. Indeed, social media has been nudging the audiences to jump from trend to trend, without considering what they really are interested in doing. However, the effects created by those key opinion leaders - or KOLs for short, are only short-term. After the trend fades out, what keeps people coming back to the recreational activities depends on the fact that if those can capture people's interest. According to latest researches, while many have started pilates following Kpop stars, the majority of them remain practicing and turn the activity into their daily routine due to the health benefits it provides. Thus, when the trends fade away, what keeps people continue actually alligns align with their preferences. In conclusion, it is indispensable that the latest trends have huge impact on what individuals might pick up doing. Nevertheless, they need to find interest in what they are doing to persue as regular hobbies.