Some people consider playing sports is beneficial for schoolchildren. Some, however, believe sport activities also have some drawbacks. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of children playing sports.

Sports are one of the activities that have not been fading throughout the time. However, it is thought by some people that sports will bring advantages to the children in schools while others believe that it offers a number of downsides to the kids. In this essay, both advantages and disadvantages will be discussed before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, it is undeniable that playing sports in schools provides children with numerous benefits, and one of the most significant plus effect is health. To elaborate further, students who play sports everyday such as soccer, basketball, tennis, etc. always have a good physical health; stay in shape, stay fit and away from getting sick. Furthermore, kids can find these sports as the outlets for stresses which they get from learning and studying. For example, when I was a child, I played football with my friends after finishing all of my classes without fail. As a result, I found myself stronger, my muscles were toning up and always had a positive mindset. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks that sports offer to young people, and the most crucial is bad learning. What this means is youngsters might play sports before attending classes which in turn makes them feel sleepy and lose their focus on what teachers are teaching. In addition, If they catch up with injuries, youths need to take a leave which sometimes weeks or months leading to they cannot catch up with the lessons. For instance, my secondary school friend religiously played basketball in the lunch break and when our afternoon classes started, he always fell asleep. Besides, there was a time when his leg was broken, and he needed to take a leave for three weeks in order to recover. After coming back, he did not grasp what teacher was saying. Overall, it is a fact that sport activities can provide both advantages and disadvantages to students depending on how much they play. They might get injuries if it is too excessive, but if it is not, these activities will bring tremendous plus effects to the children.