Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over peer pressure. While some hold a strong view that peer pressure plays a paramount imperative role in people ’s lives, the opposite makes a statement that it brings different negative impacts. This phenomenon has both pros and cons. However, its advantage cannot overshadow its disadvantage. Without a shadow of a doubt, people always strive to become a better version of themselves and peer pressure can be a great advocate for an individual’s motivation. For instance, if someone is insecure about their academic outcomes, suffering peer pressure from outstanding students in their school, then, they will put themselves into a disciplined plan of study and lifestyle. With the support of peer pressure ’s influence and self-discipline, they have the courage to explore new things, absorb valuable knowledge and gain better results in their study. Hence, peer pressure can help people improve themselves positively. However, beside those people who consider peer pressure an aid to their momentums, a great majority of people find it limits their ability to grow since everyone is unique in their own way, having their own pace, talents, and hobbies. If someone is suffering from peer pressure, perhaps they will try at all costs to catch up with others despite the fact that the field they are pursuing is none of their favorites. Therefore, chasing after someone else’s success just because of the feeling towards peer pressure is a waste of time. They should focus on their own career and personal growth. In conclusion, peer pressure is a common phenomenon existing before now which creates an enormous impact on individuals’ lives. However, peer pressure can act as a harmful obstacle or a potential opportunity for change depending on how people perceive and compromise with it.