The percentage of overweight children in the western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effect of this disturbing trend.

In the last decade, an arise of overweight youngsters has obviously been seen in the western society and the proportion of these new generations has increased by a massive 20%. In this essay, both causes and effects of this issue will be outlined before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, there are several reasons why the fraction of obese children is getting higher, and one of the most significant is junk food. To explain in greater detail, the short duration of serving time in these restaurants suits children's lifestyles as they have tight learning schedules. Furthermore, a lot of branches of fast food restaurants have sprung up all over cities and therefore youngsters can easily grab it while they commute from homes and schools. For example, when I was a child, McDonald's was located on the opposite side of my primary school. Hence, when I was late and my class was about to start, I would choose to buy and eat hamburgers from this fast food shop before entering the school. On the other hand, there is a clear drawback to this issue and it is health issues. To elaborate further, eating a vast amount of junk food leads to numerous diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, etc. Moreover, their physical strength are weakened because when adolescents gain more weight, they lack stamina and it badly affects their joints and ankles. For example, when I was in middle school, my close friend was obsessed with fried chickens and hamburgers from McDonald and his weight rose to more than 100 kilograms which in turn his doctor said that he got both obese and high blood pressure. Besides, he highly risked to heart disease if he did not control his diet. Overall, it is undeniable that the younger generations in recent years have been overweight due to plenty of unhealthy food shops, namely, McDonald's, KFC, Texas Chicken and so on. As a result, eating an enormous amount of junk food leads to bad health issues which will make their health worsen.