Young people are often influenced in their behaviours by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

The peer group tends to exert influence on the way teenagers behave. While many believe that the influence of peers is immensely important, others opine that it has its obvious drawbacks. I believe that the benefits peer pressure brings outweigh the disadvantages because it can still instil positive attitude towards education, despite the primary drawback, namely substance use, or so on it may cause. The influence of peers can inspire young people to build positive behaviours, make good choices, and strive for academic excellence. When friends place emphasis on education and academic performance, it can exert a positive impact on the young's attitude torwards learning. For instance, students who maintain a friend circle who possess strong work ethic, may feel a strong motivation to study diligently with them. However, peer pressure can also exert influence on young people to engage in deviant behaviours. It may make young adults feel obliged to take on bad habits like substance abuse to feel like they are part of the circle and not levelled as boring or weak. For example, if a group of friends get involved in substance abuse, underage drinking, and delinquenet activities, a child may feel obligated to confrom confirm to these behaviours to avoid exclusion. To conclude, there is no concrete evidence to endorse the view that peer pressure is the primary reason for unacceptable behaviours and substance abuse. I believe that peer pressure can encourage young people to conform a positive attitude towards learning.