With a fast pace of modern life more and more people are turning towards fast food for their main meals. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent time, fast food has become quiet famous amongst the society as a larger number of population shift to eating processed food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I would be explicating the merits and demerits of this notion along with valid reasons and illustrations that lean mostly towards the drawbacks. On the one hand, grabbing a burger or a sandwich on the way to work or school in the rush hours of mornings, conveniently suits a lifestyle of an individual in this busy world. To elaborate, a study by a Youtuber delineated that the time taken to prepare a home cooked meal is significantly higher than buying breakfast from a fast food chain. Therefore, the convenience factor of preferring McDonalds or KFC instead of cooking at home is certainly a plus point. Moreover, since junk food does not require the purchase of fresh produce on a daily basis, they have the liberty to sell their products at cheaper and attractive price points. Thus, more and more people turn towards fast foods because grocery shopping and preparing meals is comparatively expensive. On the other hand, breakfast is eaten like a king’s meal which means the first meal of the day should contain all necessary nutrients. Having said that, the processed food industry produces in bulk and freeze the food items until sold by adding preservatives and food colorings. Subsequently, the meals consumed from these food industries carry negligible amounts of nutrients as well as high amounts of harmful chemicals which result in health issues. For example, a scientific journal published that a substance called phosphate additives present in beef patties in an established fast food chain is one of the main causes of stomach cancer. Furthermore, countries like USA, where junk food consumption is high, prevalence of obesity is skyrocketing. Thus, when the health of citizens in a nation is compromised, the future of that country is inevitably in danger. To conclude, the long term effects on health conditions consequently effecting the whole population is not worth the cost and time effective facets of opting for processed meals.