It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Elucidating teenagers on moral standards is of utmost necessity, and putting up a penalty for their crimes and offences would contribute immensely to their awareness of right and wrong. I personally, support this view as this would help proffer the moral ethics in our youngsters. In this essay, I will elucidate on the need for this approach, and suggest the appropriate disciplinary acts, which the parents and teachers can take on offending school children. I believe that a public law against offenders without age restriction will help ameliorate or rather eradicate crime in the society. To buttress this, offenders such as murderers, burglars, rapists, should be dealt with accordingly. Child protection act, however, can help reduce penalty, but I am of the objection that such a child offender be set free without any disciplinary action. For instance, a fifteen years old boy that stabbed an elderly man in his neighbourhood to death, and claimed that the deceased man was verbally mean to him. The child offender should be penalised to months of community service, rather than set lose under some child protection policy. It would consequently make the child aware of the gravity of his actions, as well as send a warning message to other teenagers against violence, instead of encouraging them. Parents and teachers can discipline students in diverse ways. They can reprimand them as well as suspend these children from accessibility or availability, depending on the severity of their offences. Guardians can restrict the kids from accessing their favourite belongings, such as toys, video games and tablets, long enough to ensure they feel remorse for their actions. Teachers as well can suspend the students from attending school, classes, or extracurricular courses after informing the parents and school authority. As a result, the students are made conscious of the possible consequences of their decisions and actions. In conclusion, penalising our children makes them cognisance of right and wrong and would immensely mitigate the rate at which they defy their parents, teachers and the public authority.