Some people think that the best way for the government to solve the problem of traffic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

A large majority of individuals believe that offering full-time public transport without fee is the most workable solution to address the issue of traffic jams in cities. I disagree with this statement because this method puts pressure on the national burden and there are also some feasible ways to tackle this problem. It must be acknowledged that government must invest a huge amount of money in maintaining this service. However, traffic congestion just occurs in rush hours when a large number of vehicle are on the road, which means that this solution is unnecessary and underused in the remaining time of the day. Therefore, in long-term period, this will put financial burden on society that leads to lack of national budget on key fields such as education, healthcare, environment, industry, politics or national defense. At a result, this measure can just insignificantly deal with traffic issues while it put a lot of risk on national budgetary. Another point that should take into consideration is that there are also some feasible ways to solve the problem of traffic congestion in cities such as making public transport more favored and upgrading the road systems. It is believed that making public transport more attractive by improving its quality, opening more departures in peak time to avoid fully-packed and ensure passenger’s safety can encourage people to use it which is more practical than providing it without charge. Moreover, the improvement of road systems can noticably handle this issues as it provide a better condition for commuter on the road and also minimize incidents that may occur due to road quality. Thus, these methods are more economical than offering free public transport full-time. In conclusion, reducing traffic congestion by providing free public transportation 24/7 is impractical as it put financially burden on government and there are some solutions that more viable to tackle this problem.