In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents choosing to self-educate their children at home rather than sending them to school. Do the advantages of home education outweigh the disadvantages?

The preference of educating children at home by parents over letting them participating in traditional classroom setting has seen a sharp growth recently. While the statement is valid to some extent, I would contend this issue brings more demerits than their counterparts. Without a shadow of a doubt, there is a wide range of parents who want to teach their kids on their own instead of letting schools do it. There are justifiable reasons to note that they acknowledge of some inevitable conflicts which can happen in schools. This can be seen in the way that in some educational institutions in Vietnam nowadays, there is a circumstance where a student in grade 8 have a misunderstanding with two others at a same age and they start to fight against each other quite hard. After having physical damage by being punched, that boy was fatally injured and unfortunately this causes an undesirable death to him. Therefore, parents can keep their children at home to ensure their kids’ safety and avoid inevitable situations that can happen badly in the future. While the positive effects of not sending children to school by their parents are widely acknowledged, homeschooled teenagers can miss out on a wide range of tremendous benefits provided by public schools. This is owing to the fact that children can face with the lack of interaction with other people such as teachers and intimate friends. To be more precise, teachers are trained under a professional system which provides them a wealth of practical skills and insights to teach students in a proper way. Unlike their parents who can have knowledge but lack of teaching expertise so they cannot impart their kids as professional as teachers do. Regarding friends, children can learn many soft skills such as problem solving skills or teamworking where they can be well-trained in a small-sized society and beneficial for their development rather than being at alone at home, self studying and have a limitation on interacting with other people. Hence, it is more appropriate for children to joining educational institutions to gain better benefits. In conclusion, home education are good in some situations, however, children can miss out of some beneficial impacts of traditional education. Moreover, homeschooling’s disadvantages can be minimized provided that parents teach their kids methods to prevent some undesirable circumstances.