Some people say that what children watch on television influences their behaviour while others say the amount of time children spend watching television influences their behaviour. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people present that TV content can impact children's behaviour while others maintain that it is not content but the amount of time children spend watching television that matters. From my perspective, although both sides sound reasonable, the latter one is more close to the crux of the issue. However, before setting forth my opinions, I hope to seriously discuss the first perspective first. We have to confess that for children, spending too much time watching TV is harmful both for their physical and mental health. On the one hand, these children's outdoor time will definitely be occupied when they are addicted in TV programs, which easily leads to obesity or high pressure. According to a recent research financed by WHO, approximately 35% of American young people are troubled with obesity, and one of the primary causes is the excessive use of screens. Regards mental health, spending too much time on TV also results in some issues. To illustrate, in so far as my observation, of my relatives' children, those who indulge in TV programs are more inclined to isolate themselves from group activities, which seems to imply that indulging in TV programs may make people excessively introverted. In a word, spending too much time watching TV indeed jeopardizes children's mental and physical health to a certain degree. Nonetheless, inappropriate TV content may be more harmful. When I refer to the word "inappropriate", it is unavoidable to incur the suspicion of censorship, which is usually regarded as a violation of others' freedom. However, this opinion itself is also a vivid manifestation of the issues of TV content. Too often TV content provides us with some ostensibly plausible slogans to allow us enough time to contemplate their validity of them. For example, some TV programs have always been advocating the importance of respecting children's freedom in the favour of those rebellious children, while they seldom refer to the consequent duties and risks. When innocent children are continuously inculcated with these irresponsible doctrines, they will be selfish egoists without any sense of responsibility. To summarize, a child who spends too much time watching TV may become common or not robust as lack of exercise, but this does not prevent them from possessing those such characteristics as bravery, patience and kindness that necessary for an upright person. However, the empty rhetoric on TV programs does jeopardize one's integrity and inhibit the development of a sense of duty. Therefore, though both sides are reasonable, I still agree more with the people who pay attention to content as at least for me, the cultivation of moralities is the most crucial.