Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours, and they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons? What can employers do to make their employees' lives easier?

Recently, there has been an increase in employees ' stress rate due to the working hours increment in several companies. In this essay, I will explore some possible factors and how we can prevent it from continuously happening in the future. Companies that are in an early stage of maturity are driven to gain the highest return on investments. They will be critically ambitious in terms of target. Moreover, they want to grow and reach the wider segment of customers, hence, the targets are usually impossible to reach within a short time. It is getting worsened by the unbalance between the resource capacity and the backlog. As a result, the employees are pushed to work harder and have longer working hours. Another possible factor is the toxic working culture, which is commonly started by the leaders. Although the company is mature enough and the target is manageable, the bad managers will force their subordinates to do their responsibilities, which means, a person must do a double-job or even triple-job. This condition surely influences the employees ' well-being to be unfulfilled by the company. Those circumstances are severely stressful and can affect the employees ' mental health. Hence, some workarounds and improvements must be applied by the employers. First, they should be aware of the situation and hire more resources to reach the target, capacity planning is the key to achieving that. They must ask each manager about the current work proportion within the team. Second, they should create a transparent performance review with a 360 method where the subordinates can give feedback to their managers anonymously. Then, the company must keep the anonymity and strictly give punishment to the bad leaders. In conclusion, longer working hours could occur because of a high target supported by the lack of resources and toxic leaders with no responsibility. Nevertheless, it could be avoided and resolved with regular capacity planning and inclusive performance review.