Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests comma and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that self-information such as personal interests and marital status, which are being asked in job applications are considered significant, others claim that such details should not be required for employers. In my opinion, sharing personal details gives an overall perspective of the applicant's personality which is vital for job prospects. In this essay, I will discuss both views and try to reach a conclusion. On the one hand, private data is mandatory in terms of work- life balance. Knowing whether a candidate is married or single can gives management an idea about their possible work-life balance. For example, single applicant might be more flexible with working hours, while married candidate might prefer more structured schedules. Moreover, sharing personal data hit the ground running to meet its relevance to team dynamics. Personal information such as hobbies and interests can contribute to understanding whether a candidate fit well within the team or organisational culture. For instance, someone who enjoys team sports might work well in collaborative environments. On the other hand, asking for personal information is a privacy concerns. Applicant might feel uncomfortable sharing personal details that they consider irrelevant to their personal abilities, leading to issues with privacy and personal boundaries. Furthermore, asking for personal interests can lead to conscious or unconscious bias during the hiring process. For example, an employer might favour single candidates over married ones, assuming that they can commit more time to the job. Hence, personal information may divert attention from more significant professional attributes. To conclude, although sharing personal details proves to be fruitful by providing overll views of the candidate's personality, professional characteristics should not be detract. As of now, I think it should be followed religiously.