You live in a small town of 10,000 people. A large green area in the centre of town is undeveloped. The city has sent out an opinion survey to see what residents would like to have built-in that area. City Development Survey: Option A: Shopping Complex: This shopping mall would include restaurants, a large supermarket, and a movie theatre. Option B: Recreational Park: This park would include a sports complex, a large green area, and a small petting zoo.

In my opinion, the city should utilize the available green land for building a recreational plaza. There are two primary reasons for choosing a recreational place over a shopping complex: need of outdoor activities and less finances required. Firstly, as a long-term resident of this city, I have personally witnessed the infrastructural development of the surrounding area and I believe our locality already has two big existing shopping complexes which not only include several dining options but also a movie theatre and supermarket. Whereas on the other hand, you hardly be able to see a sports complex for outdoor activities. In my view, a recreational place would bring a positive change in the local community, encouraging our offspring to engage in sports, and avoiding the screens. Additionally, a large green area can be utilized by the elderly for walking and for some relaxation exercises, moreover, a zoo will add an interesting option for a picnic where not only endangered animals can find shelter but also growing children can have exposure to nature. Secondly, a recreational park would require less finances as compared to a shopping complex. A recreational park will not only bring positive change to the local community, but also add up to the income of the city from memberships to the sports complex and, tickets from the park, and zoo. Finally, considering all the discussed points I prefer a recreational park over a shopping mall. Thank you for the opportunity to contribute my feedback.