Some people believe that non-academic subjects at school should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, art and music classes should be replaced by more utilitarian subjects like science and computer classes. While I understand the importance of equipping children with skills that are immediately applicable in their lives, I firmly believe that music education holds significant value and should not be discarded. Initially, music education influences happiness, there is no denying that music (and dancing) makes feel good and happy. Studies have shown that while listening to music the brain releases dopamine, and this hormone is responsible for feeling happiness, excitement and joy. It also been shown that it alleviates depression, moreover, music helps to decreases stress hormone in the body, for an example, some surgeons play music to reduce stress and anxiety, also it helps doctors to focus, therefore the benefits is highly valueable and have the same positive effects in any field. Additionally, music education can forest in creative thinking skills, researches shows that children who receive musical training shows a development in language area and solving mathematical problems, and the credit goes to making the brain used to reading music and understanding rhythms and recognising patterns. Furthermore, creating music and rhythms is based on personal effort, unlike science subjects music education does not follow rules or constants, it rely most of the time on intellectual and free thinking and creative ideas, those benefits suggest music education supports enhances learning in other academic areas. In conclusion, there's no doubt that music education enriches student's academic and emotional skills, the time and money is well spent, therefore, school should strive to maintain the balanced education, to ensure that students receive a comprehensive education.