The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A country's growth is always considered to be its overall growth. Some people say that the government is required to focus on healthcare and basic infrastructure, however some believe that they should concentrate on investing in culture heritage like music and art. I believe both views are important and I will clarify them in the following paragraphs. To begin with, basic infrastructure is the sole-responsibility of the government, hence investing in public services is their prime job. Every individual is required to access various services like healthcare, transportation, and basic amenities. For instance, lack of funds can damage or put our healthcare system at risk, if they are not able to maintain them on a regular basis. Therefore, patients will suffer and that will be a huge loss for the country. On the other hand, the development of art is equally important; it enriches the cultural heritage. Growing globally and expanding culture using music, theatre and art is also a necessity to build a healthy environment for youth to increase creativity and innovation among them. For example, Punjab is known for its music and culture worldwide hence their youth is getting huge opportunities and getting businesses, concerts and Hollywood movies etc. Punjabi culture is recognized worldwide and is appreciated. On balance, since funding for the arts and providing public access are significant things to do, it is pretty difficult to make a conclusion, whether I agree or disagree.