Many office authorities impose a restriction on smoking within the office premises. Some governments have even banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom. What is your opinion?

Smoking and its related regulations have been at the center of many hot debates with some governments and authorities suggesting that it should be fully banned in workplace and public places while some argue that it might be seen as an invasion to one's sense of freedom. Considering the fact that smoking, if done publicly, can have many detrimental influences on the overall health of the non-smokers, I personally believe that strict rules and restrictions are essential to keep the reprecautions at minimum. It goes without saying that smoking, in general, is not a healthy habit since it can be the main cause of severe illnesses like lung cancer; therefore, most authorities aim to avoid it's spread by imposing restrictions that mostly revolve around the goal of keeping the public healthy. this target however, is only reachable with strict limitations on cigarrett consumption in public that is logical and acceptable considering the catastrophic concequenses of long-term exposure to second-hand smoke which is the smoke exhaled by the somekers that will inavitably put the surrounding non-smokers in danger of serious health problems. However, some believe these laws can be viewed as threats to one's social freedom which is not a very valid reason scine the population that these regulaions are planning to protect, is the people who do not engage in smoking themselves. Meaning that trying to save some people from the aftermath of others' actions is not jeopradizing the latter's freedom. In conclusion, despite the present argumets argument around the possible violation of the smokers' freedom by the imposed limitations, ensuring that the non-smokers are not constantly exposed to smoke is of utmost importance.