In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their fruit and vegetable. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There are no doubts that in some cities parks and gardens were substituded with gardens where people can plant fruits and vegetables. From my point of view negative sides of the phenomenon outweigh the positive aspects, wich I will explain in this essay. To begin with, the benefit of growing plants that produce food in gardens of cities is cheap fruits and vegatables production. This is because households do not pay for lands, labor, and transportation as commercial farms do. As a result, individuals may consume not expensive meal which full of vitamins and fiber. In addition, the producing of nesessary necessity in every family ingredients for cooking could be the sourse of income for poor city dwellers. For instance, individuals may plant potatoes, carrots, onions and tomatos in public spaces and sale the harvest to other citizens, achiving money for living. As the drawback of the usage of public spaces for agriculture, the negative influence for city's appearance will be considered. The example of having beds of carrot in the downtown of Astana, where I live, will sound bizarre. This happens in a light of the common urban planning rules, where in areas with high density of buildings have to be organized parks and gardens for people' convinience. Alternatively, the view of gardens with tomatos near to skyscrapers could be terrible. As the second argument against the indirect usage of parks could be the human rights to do activities into areas with greenary. For example, In Botanic garden, the park in the centre of the city where I base, housands of people walk and doing sport every day. In conclusion, I suggest that wonderful cities shapes could not be destroyed by the desire to produce less expensive agricalture agricultural products. Moreover, the ability for citizens to do outdoor activities is also outweight the potential for poor people to have profit from planting. That is why I keep position do not use parks and public spaces as gardens..