Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the area of literacy and numeracy. Discuss the problem and give solutions ?

Nowadays, some individuals think there is a reduction in the status of education especially in the aspects of literacy and calculation. This essay seeks to look as some problems associated with this decline and tentative suggestions to curtail this. To begin with, Mathematics is a subject known to sharpen the thinking ability of people, as well as enable them solve lifetime problems technically. However, the invention of calculators makes carrying out arithmetics very easy and fast. This has led to people resorting to its use instead of racking their brains to solve very simple arithmetic questions. By so doing, people are robbed of their ability to carry out simple calculations with their minds. The resultant effect is having lots of adults who struggle with carrying out everyday task such as the use of money. To add to this, there are on-line applications where a google voice does reading. Such applications does not encourage students to learn to read. Not learning to read affects speaking the English language which makes communication difficult. Some solutions to these problems are discouraging the use of calculators in school so as to enable pupils develop their thinking abilities really well. Also, children should not be allowed access to softwares such as google voice which will carry out reading for them. They should learn to read at school themselves. In conclusion, the main problems there are to a decline in our educational standards are the use of calculators and google services that read for schoolers.