Some people think schools should focus only on teaching the content of core subjects such as maths, science and languages rather than developing students creative thinking skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is well known that schools usually prioritize basic subjects such as maths, science and languages. However, fostering creative thinking skills has been applied in new educational systems. This essay will argue that developing creativity has vital benefits for a student and our society. Although core subjects are important to the development of logical thinking, creative skills could also provide ways to be involved in society. Normally, classes such as art and sport lead to a better development in communication. It is common to find that student with that type of curriculum are more comfortable expressing themselves and their opinions. Furthermore, they may develop a tolerant and empathic personality. Due to effective communication, they are more available to understand others with different perspectives. Additionally, developing creativity may lead to establishing resilient thinking. These types of students commonly establish better ways to solve a problem and process emotions. Due to that, they learn how to overcome challenges and take advantage of them. Therefore, creativity generates a healthier population with more clear ideas, available to solve serious problems that societies are facing. To sum up, it is true that core subjects are important, they are necessary to learn, however, creative thinking is also essential to establish a civilized society. That skill leads to a population more aware of the world and the problems that it is currently facing.