Many goods including what we use on daily basis produced by other countries need to be transported from a long distance.To what extent Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages

Our daily purchases that are mainly produced by foreign countries need to be supplied from a long distance. Although this tendency has certain drawbacks, I believe that advantages surpass its disadvantages. On the one hand, transporting goods from abroad requires sophisticated vehicles which can carry all products without being ruined or spoiled. Obviously, this process increases the cost of shipped goods that make them unaffordable to ordinary citizens. Therefore, there is a chance that those products will be less attractive to buyers and lead importers to loss. In addition, it is highly probable that there are certain products that can be easily damaged before even reaching the final destination regardless of how advanced the transport means are. This can deter people from acquiring those products they desire and lead them to common dissatisfaction. Conversly, increased cost of goods imported from overseas can act as a great incentive for local suppliers to produce the substitudes of unavailable foreign products. This can undoubtedly increase the level of production within the country which might contribute to overall development of the economy. Furthermore, improved economic system with the full of businesses that are crucial for consumers' well-being, also means more job opportunities for citizens and less unemployed people. Thanks to this tendency, countries might reform their strategies and take initiatives to be self-supplied, and devise new methods and solutions to raise efficiency and effectiveness of the production processes. To conclude, I have to admit that despite possessing obvious disadvantages, I believe that advantages outweigh the drawbacks since they pave the way for more sustainable and fully developed economy.