Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace in the future. Others think the true function of a university is to provide access to knowledge for its own sake. What do you think are the main functions of a university?

Universities play a key role in the job market. It has become a subject of concern whether or not graduates should be trained to acquire employment skills at tertiary institutions or they should be left to learn whilst working. I am of the view that universities should offer both knowledge and skills to their students. To begin with, firstly a university serves as the highest level of education which creates the forum for people to learn to take lifechanging decisions. For instance, most people who go to the university live away from home. They become responsible for their accommodation, meals and utility bills. This encourages individuals to plan how to manage their individual affairs. By so doing, they acquire the ability to make decisions on their own as they become responsible for the consequences. Also, the differing background of several people inculcates the ability to learn social skills. Thus, people are left with no option than to learn to live with others as everyone behaves as they please. Lastly, tertiary institutions offers knowledge to students by competent tutors in a particular field to enable the learners become capable to handle tasks in a particular field. However, during the working experience, they may face problems which will require a person who has had a similar experience in the past to help solve such. In view of this, most companies send out job offers requesting people with experience. Typically, individuals leaving university only acquire knowledge but no skills from school. This makes it difficult for them to qualify for the recruiting criteria for lots of employing firms. For instance in Ghana, several graduates from tertiary institutions are jobless whereas a higher percentage of persons with skills have jobs. Hence, higher levels of education should be encouraged to teach students the skills they will need on their desired jobs. In conclusion, universities have several roles. The main of which is impacting knowledge and generating socially oriented individuals who can take decisions on their own.