Natural resources, such as water, forests and oil are being used at an excessive rate. What is the main cause of this problem? How can this issue be solved.

Planet resources are being consumed at an alarming rate. The primary cause of this phenomenon is the lifestyle of the people living in the Western countries and the most viable solution is to educate young people about this issue. Countries in North America and Europe have a culture of waste. That is to say that their lifestyle involve consuming lot of natural resources for their transport, food and leisure time. This results in a huge amount of energy being consumed in the form of petrol in cars and coal and gas in electrical power stations. Many have become so used to this type of luxury that it is very difficult for them to contemplate a life without modern conveniences. For example, the most popular car in the United America is SUV, which has low fuel efficiency of any car and it is not unsual for european to have TV in all rooms along with many other electrical devices. A long term solution of this predicament is to educate the young people about the dangers of consuming resources irresponsibly. Children in schools could be taught about how to conserve energy and recycle so that the next generation will act more responsibly.They are also likey to teach their parents the things they learned in schools and adults will also be influenced by this initative. For example, school children in Germany taught about the consequences of treating the planets in a reckless manner and now they have one of the highest rate of recycling and renewable energy in the world. In conclusion, planets is being depleted at a staggering rate because American and European citizens consume more energy than their fair share and their children must be taught that conservation is the best answer.