More and more people are working at home rather than in the workplace. Some people say this will bring benefits to the workers and their families, but others think it will bring stress to the home. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Working from home, also called Telecommuting has picked up pace in the recent years since the advent of high-speed, reliable internet and the lockdown due to Covid-19 only made it more common. Some people are of the view that it comes with many advantages while others look at it as a problem. This essay is going to discuss both views and give a reliable solution. Looking at the benefits of Telecommuting, it is easy on the pockets of employees as they don't have to spend money on transportation to reach the office. The employees also save a lot of time which they would, otherwise be spending on commuting to work. Moreover, working from home allows an employee more time to look after his/her family so he/she can fulfil household responsibilities while also advancing in their career. Furthermore, getting more free time will also help in reducing the mental health problem that is prevalent in the society as people will be able to sleep more and enjoy the hobbies or activities that make them relax. Lastly, while telecommuting, people can enjoy a fresh home cooked meal in the comfort of their house instead of eating the stale food they prepared a night before. On the other hand, Telecommuting is viewed by some people as a problem because it brings the stress of work to the house. Some people might have trouble focusing on house work and job duties at the same time, so it can adversely affect their work performance. Moreover, since employees save on travel time, they are expected to work longer hours at work and that defeats one advantage of telecommuting. In conclusion, it can be said that telecommuting comes with both advantages and disadvantages but the former outweighs the latter and the problems are just a small price to pay to obtain the benefits of it.