There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Forming skilled and knowledgeable individuals is the main goal of the educational system. Through a diverse curriculum a student acquires information on various topics which will be useful for their job and day-to-day life. It is disagreed that non-academic subjects should be removed from the school syllabus with the goal of prioritizing only academic work. To support the thesis, the importance of diverse skills and the atmosphere of the learning environment are being analyzed. In life it is essential to posess a multitude of aptitudes to be able to handle challenges. For example, a cookery class presents knowledge which can be used when living alone during university years and dealing with shortage of time and financial resources. Non-academic subjects give the student an opportunity to work and learn about more practical fields. When faced with real life, there is need of more than just academic information, therefore non-academic subjects should not be removed from the curriculum. To succeed, youths need a welcoming and non-stressful learning environment, which allows them to also socialize and enjoy their experience. For instance, having a physical education class in between a demanding calculus class and a technical physics class allows a student to take a break from the intense thinking and relax, while also learning a new game or practicing team work. Non-academic subjects help kids enjoy their school experience and not become overwhelmed. Such an admosphere will help them succeed academically. To summarize, focusing just on academic work, despite increased competition, deprives students of essential practical skills and creates a dense, stressful schedule. Therefore, it is clear that the idea of removing non-academic classes from the syllabus cannot be supported. After thorough analysis on this subject, it is advised that schools continue to offer courses such as cookery and physical education to enhance the learning process and help students become well-rounded individuals.