Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the recent years, there has been a bigger focus on global media due to international relations becoming increasingly important. This ongoing change has led to an open-to-debate call to include worldwide journalism in the teaching program. Personally, I consider the idea to be of high risk for the youngsters’ minds, as it can shape their future way of thinking both politically and in international relations. To begin with, the classroom would be entirely subjected to the teacher’s political alignments and values. It is a common practice for the national government to give the educators some guidelines and summary of contents to ensure all kids in the country receive a similar education, however, the way of presenting a certain topic can severely affect the information being communicated. For example, a right-winged news channel would only show the negative impacts of a left inclined president decisions. Therefore, there is an extremely strong possibility that the kids could be influenced by and adopt the opinions showed Change the form of the verb shown show examples in the broadcast. Secondly, the frequency of the countries being the subject of the headlines could turn schooler’s attention to certain of them above others. The level of exposure of some nominated nations can lead the kids to believe those are important territories to look up to, which in extreme cases could even lead to the youngsters overlooking their own country. For example, if the news channel used during the class is centred in the United States and connects important political, economical and social events in the schooler’s country of origin they could think that the United States is more important than their own nation. All in all, influence and power are two of the qualities humans usually hold in high regard, including little kids. To sum up, journalism is greatly dependant on the eye of the observer and their way of transmitting the information, and because of that it can never result in unbiased information, becoming a risk for the way of thinking of the people that will shape the future.