Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Travelling and experiencing new cultures is a luxury and the tourism industry is growing by its leaps and bounds every year globally. There is an ongoing debate whether the customs and behaviour should be followed by the sightseers, or the host country should welcome their cultural differences. This essay will elaborate both the views along with my standpoint. First and foremost, certain countries have to work flat out to preserve their heritage in the form of Museums, national parks and monuments. However, the foreigners during their visit disrespect them by throwing garbage, plastic and causing harm to natural habitats. Consequently, they hurt the emotions of visiting nation through this outrageous behaviour which enforce to implement strict rules and regulations for visitors. So, it should be the duty of every traveller to treat every nation like their own. Secondly, by following the rituals and ways of living assist tourists to get socialized with native people and acknowledging their culture more deeply. To quote an example, some travel agents suggest the foreigners to dress according to the place to show respect for the place they visit. Like, in most of the Islamic countries most of the women travel from another places are told to cover their full body before entering as it is mandatory for Islamic women to be covered fully with clothes. On the other side of the point, it is irrefutable that the tourist industry enhances the economy of every region. To attract more tourists, the host country should welcome the cultural diversities in the form of food, dresses, and languages so that they can feel it like home. To exemplify, a recent study by Cambridge University revealed that the travellers mostly prefer going to places which accept diverse cultures. Moreover, it not only enhances the economy but creates great employment opportunities for the native folks. Hence, for economic benefit and lower down the rate of unemployment, society should receive visitors warmly. To recapitulate, the debate between the above two points is complex and in my school of thought it's a balanced approach as both the perspectives hold merit. It is essential for the foreigners to respect and adhere to the local customs, while the host country should create an inclusive environment that appreciates diversity. `