Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, international sporting events, such as the Olympics, are becoming more and more mundane events. In fact, some people think that these events are the right opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nations while others believe that they are a massive unjustifiable expense. To begin with, international sporting events require many expenses such as commercials, staff, players and locations. For example, Athens was rebuilt when it hosted the Olympic games, bringing numerous advantages to the citizens. For istance, new hotels were built in order to host watchers and so, citizens found more jobs oportunities. By building and improving the city, Greece was able to show the world many qualities. Moreover, this brought to the nation a great number of tourists which contributed to a rise in economy. On the other hand, some people believe that these events are a large unjustifiable expense. For example, lights, fireworks and extravagant costumes are used in opening ceremonies. Thus, a great amount of money are spent on unnecessary things. In conclusion, I firmly believe that sporting events are a great opportunity to show the qualities and resources of the hosting nations. I also believe that a lot of money could be saved instead of wasted on useless things and should be donated.