Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate over on what subjects university students are ought to focus has sparked considerable controversy. While some argue that concentrating on solely their own major is most conducive to becoming sophisticated, I, along with others, contend that considering other subjects as well are more constructive for a holistic development. To begin with, some may claim that dedicating one's time and efforts to only the major they are studying at the university provides them with more growth opportunities. They believe this is mainly because they'd have more time to comprehend the theories and work on practical areas. Consequently, they'd develop a greater expertise on their field, prior to finding better job prospects in the future. Moreover, the great job vacancies ensure their financial stability and a high quality of life. To illustrate, renowend Iranian engineers declare that they had allocated all of their time to focusing Change the form of the verb focus show examples on engineering during university days. However, despite some accuracies to this perspective, it often comes at the cost of being deprived from the knowledge being offered in other fields; therefore, it is better to strike a balance between studying different fields, ensuring a well-rounded development. One major merit of taking other topics into account alongside theirs is the general understanding of the world. By considering different point of views, theories, and approaches, individuals cultivate a better comprehension of the events and thus, improve decision-making skills such as critical thinking. Furthermore, since each major has been developed from distinct cultures and has a novel background history, individuals would foster not only the knowledge of wide range of cultural heritages but also a sympathetic approach towards different societies. Take the USA as an example; where psychology students are taking history courses as well, and this participation has benefited them in having better comprehension of human's personality development throughout the history, together with the reasons behind it. Hence, they've improved their knowledge regarding their own major whilst considering distinct perspectives and contributors, highlighting the positive impact of this approach. In conclusion, although many advocate for focusing on a single subject, I firmly believe it is best for students to seek extracurricular topics as well. In fact, doing so, imparts significant advantages to them as it helps them enhance their general knwoledge of the world, coupled with better cognitive skills. Ultimately, a balance between all these subjects comes to student's benefit.