Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumers. Some people believe we should buy food from the local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

We consume food which had traveled more distance. Some individuals state that we should purchase food from local markets inorder to protect the environment as well as to support the neighborhood farmers. I believe the advantages such as, having access to fresh food and less pricy food outweigh the disadvantages such as the only availability of seasonal food and the availability of the seller. Consuming foods from a local market always depend on the availability of the seller. Local farmers are not always present and then usually make their sales on weekends. This generates such difficulties to the buyer as they can not buy the products whenever they need to. Also another problem is that the regional markets only contain seasonal fruits and vegetables which are grown in the neighborhood. So the consumer doesnt get an access to enjoy various types of foods. For example, apples and oranges do not grow in tropical countries like Srilanka. So unless they are imported, the people in Srilanka wont be able to taste them. However, a major advantage is that the local markets almost always have fresh items. Farmers are keen on selling their freshly produced fruits, vegetables or meat in the market in order to gain more trust of the consumer and satisfy them with their service. Moreover, since these items meet the consumer directly, the cost for travelling and taxes for those are not applicable, thus, they tend to cost much less. For instance, the price of fish meat is significantly low and in high quality in coastal areas. In conclusion, as products travel way more distance to reach the consumer, it is believed that buying more from local farmers have many advantages such as having access to fresh and cheap priced food and they surpass the disadvantages such as the only availability of seasonal food and the limited presence of local farmers.