Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

While some university students are eager to take extra-curricular classes in addition to their primary topics, others are certain that it is more essential for them to dedicate their time and focus to obtaining the qualification. This essay will analyze both points of view and present my opinion on the subject. On the one hand, enrolling in subjects that are not directly relevant to the major allows students to have a more calm and pleasurable academic experience while earning extra credits, as the major topics might get exhausting. A medical student, for example, may benefit from extra-curricular language programs that are not only more enjoyable and simpler to learn than other field-related studies but can also raise his GPA. Students, on the other hand, must gain fundamental knowledge about the fields they chose in order to graduate and become certified workers, which demands their entire attention and concentration on their key courses. Everything else may cause distractions. For example, it is commonly recognized that medicine is an arduous subject of study in which students must work extremely hard to graduate. If medical students take unrelated subjects, they will become sidetracked and lose focus on what is most important to their future careers. In my opinion, students have the right to choose their elective courses; nevertheless, these classes should be omitted from the grading system because it is unjust to others who are indifferent. The same medical student should be allowed to enroll in an extra-curricular language class if he so desires, but his results should not be reflected in his GPA, and he should continue to study hard to achieve his degree in medicine, same as his classmates. In conclusion, some university students would want to take non-field-related classes in addition to their core subjects because it allows them to relax and earn extra credits. Others, however, believe that fully committing to the major courses is more crucial for their job prospects. Personally, 1 support the right of students to choose, but elective courses should not be academically recorded in the final scores.