Food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. some people believe we should buy food from local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, under the development of delivery system, local specialities are able to be shipped to everywhere just by an online order. Therefore, tons of plastic for item's packings are released to harm our environment. I firmly believe that buying food directly from local farmer would bring many positive impacts to encourage the indigenous economy. It is evident that the demand of food delivery and cargo is more and more higher for the last ten years. It also means that we are wasting a lot of money for plastic packings, transportation fuel, even the preservative subtains. As a result, our environment has been gradually destroyed by the big amount of disintegrated garbage, the air pollution, and our health has been endangered by eating too much of chemiscal preservatives. For instance, annually there is about 500 million tons of US cherry are shipped to Vietnam, estimated about 10 tons of packing items and 50 litters of chemiscal chemicals subtains are needed to use. Those expenses are much more higher than local farmer's benefit. Instead of food travelling to customers, why not customers coming to local food? Obviously, this point would bring more directly benefit for local people. Not only increasing income for food industry but also creat more jobs for tourism. For example, the new trend of homestay tour that make travellers have chance to come and stay with the friendly farmer family, to experience to cook local food, to taste fresh fruits from local gardens and learn more about local culture. In this way, local farmer and comsumers consumer are happy. In conclusion, I support that we should experience the local food at the place where it comes from. It is the best way to support the local economy and save our environment.