Write about the following topic: Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.  In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely believed that learning English should be prioritized over the learning of native languages within an academic environment. I believe the English language has taken precedence over all others in the present world hence, it is crucial to be spoken and understood by everyone so as not to be left out in the global community. To begin with, it is imperative to teach every child English because it has become the world's common language. That is, everyone needs to have at least a basic knowledge of English to operate at the international level. Additionally, most countries such as Nigeria, Ghana, Morocco, and other African countries have adopted this language as either their first or second official language, thereby increasing the population of English speakers. For instance, English is the lingua Franca in most international business meetings, research institutions etc a good use of it would save the hassles that come with language barriers and the need for translators. Thus, giving room for an enriched, convenient flow of conversations, sharing of ideas as well as knowledge acquisition. However, language is one factor that defines culture and hence should not be allowed to phase out. Parents should be encouraged to frequently use their local languages among the kids while at home or during family gatherings. This means that while the teachers in school teach them other necessary foreign languages, the biggest onus is on families to inculcate these cultural values in their children,, especially during the learning age when they can easily imbibe the. Based on facts in Nigeria, recent research has shown that more than 50% of the population have excellent use of English as well as their local languages and this has been attributed to the respective contributions of teachers in school and the parents at home. In conclusion, I believe in the utmost importance of exposing kids to the learning of English in schools while their mother tongue can be preserved by teaching and encouraging the use of their native languages at home more often