Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Peer group pressure has been present among youngsters for centuries but is evidently on a rise nowadays. This can help push the younger generation into attaining certain career heights, however, it is a contributing factor to juvenile crime in society. In my opinion, the cons of peer pressure outweigh the pros. To begin with, one main disadvantage of peer influence on youngsters is the increase in crime rate among the population in quest to meet certain standards. They feel the need to follow the trend, appear appealing or financially buoyant like their folks and frame experienced like their mates, whilst in the process lose their morals and home training and often take actions to belong even if it means going against the law. For instance, a young boy with a group of friends that appear rich, use the latest gadgets, take illicit drugs and even molest the female kids will eventually see the need to steal money from parents or through robbery so as to acquire the expensive things. This teenager may start using illegal drugs and sexually harass the girls to pose mature and experienced. However, there can be an advantage associated with peer group pressure which is the encouragement to attain certain heights in their academics and career. Young people have the compulsion to work harder in school to do academically better than their folks and at work to get promoted ahead of their colleagues. For example, research has shown that there is a stiff competition in the world which is now a small global village. The population see the need to invest more time to acquire better knowledge and position which is evident in schools and work environments and is irrefutably sparked up by peer group pressure. In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages of peer pressure surpass the advantages. Though peer group pressure can help push the younger generation into attaining certain career heights, it is a major contributing factor to the increased juvenile crime rate in society.