Some parents purchase their kids a large number of toys to play with.What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having lot of toys.

Many parents buy their kids a lot of toys to play with. One advantage is that a number of playthings can help develop fine and gross motor skills. However, the main disadvantage is that toys may limit children's opportunities for social interaction. On the one hand, numerous playthings can improve a child's fine and gross motor skills. Most children like to play with building blocks, which advance toddlers' hand-eye coordination. For example, many pediatric occupational therapists prefer to use wooden construction blocks because playing with building blocks and constructing a building requires hand-eye coordination as the hand muscles maneuver blocks and tools. On the other hand, toys may restrict a baby's opportunities for social connection. Children often want to play alone and do not want to be disturbed while they are playing with puzzles or engaging in role play with toys. For example, researchers have found that both social and isolated toys can promote social interactions. Moreover, O'Gorman, Hughes, and Carter (2002) did not find any significant differences in social interactions when children were playing with either type of toy. In conclusion, having a great deal of dolls and playthings can help develop children's motor skills. However, too many toys may limit social interaction.