You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Wrirte about the following topic: In many countries today, there are people living on or below the poverty line. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people live under the povery line in various underdeveloped and developing nations across the globe. The main reasons for this condition include lack of education and consequent loss of employment opputunities. The solutions to these problems are not easy, but with government interventions, it is not impossible to irradicate poverty. This essay discusses in detail the various reasons for this problem and their possible solutions. The first and foremost reason for poverty is lack of educational avenues for children born in such families. Eventhough majority of the kids are enrolled in schools at a younger age, drop out rates as they enter high school are much higher than students from affluent familes. This is probably due to pressure from within the family to join a daily wage job and support the family, which forces them to leave school. Consequent to this lack of education they have lesser employment avenues in the society. Another problem lies deeprooted in the society, which I like to call 'favouritism'. The rich and privilliged sections of the society prefers their friends and family, not an individual who is born in a poor family. This transforms the society into which rich becomes richer and poor becomes even more poorer, pushing them further under the poverty line. Having discussed the poor educational and employment opportuinities available for this marginalized sections, there are possible solutions for uplifting them from this misery. But, for this, the society needs a government with a clear vision to end this issue. The first proposed govenrment intervention is by passing a law which abolishes child labor. The law should enforce a compulsory primary and high school education for all its citizens. The second idea is by reserving a percentage of jobs to people coming from financially marginalized societies. This ensures equitable distribution of wealth amongst its citizens. In conclusion, eventhough there are multiple reasons for people living under poverty line, including lack of education and empoyment oppotunities, there is possible ways by govenrment intervention to abolish poverty.