Organised tours to remote places and communities are increasingly popular. Is this a positive or negative development for the local people and the local environment?

More and more tourism companies are offering organized vacations to destinations that are less frequently visited. While can see benefits, l believe that overall this is a negative development. Admittedly, one positive is that this can bring external revenue which is often much needed. Tourists require facilities during their stay, which include accommodation and meals, and in addition they often purchase souvenirs and cultural artefacts. This naturally stimulates the local economy, creates jobs, and raises the overall standard of living, and, at the same time, allows these areas to invest more in protecting their environment. When managed carefully, this can bring prosperity to a region, such as parts of southern Africa, which have leveraged safari visits from foreigners to not only help bring locals out of poverty, but also create teams of wildlife protectors to prevent animal poaching. Nevertheless, my feeling is that the drawbacks are more persuasive. One is that remote regions are often culturally sensitive, and commercialisation can damage locals' way of life. Seeing religious icons being sold in less developed locales to western tourists can be dispiriting, and can weaken their cultural meaning and importance. Another is that tours inevitably bring waste and pollution, and l believe that this cannot always be compensated by the influx in expenditure, Transport infrastructure such as Largel roads and train lines are built, often through ecologically fragile areas, not to mention there are increased energy and waste disposal needs, which can have devastating impacts on the natural environment. The beautiful surrounds of Machu Picchu inPeru is a relevant case in point, having been damaged by the trekking of millions of tourists. In summary, while there may be positives of a rise in tours to remote places, I think that there are more detrimental consequences.