Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In present days, there has been an increasing trend in choosing to work for oneself observed in the society. This essay will shed light on the possible causes of the aforementioned and present some possible repercussions. The causes of this phenomenal are multifaceted. On a personal view, self-employment could provide greater flexibility as compared to working for an organization. In other words, instead of doing an eight-to-five job, those who freelance can work following their own schedules, which will enable a sense of freedom and allow them to focus on doing things that they enjoy, such as picking up a new hobby or doing physical exercises. As a result, more people are inclining toward the career shift. From a societal perspective, due to the recent booming of the economy, many households have been earning greater income, cultivating strong financial foundations. Indeed, the younger generation need not to worry about making ends meet; instead, they have the monetary support to concentrate on their ambitions, including starting a business or doing freelance work. However, there are some possible demerits of working for oneself. First and foremost, the flexibility of being self-employed may come with unstable income. In fact, freelance works may not always be in demand, and competition may be tough when it comes to rivalry against the professional businesses in the fields. As a result, people who are self-employed may experience period with low or zero incomes, which may affect their lives negatively. As well as this, working for oneself may cause stress or depression. As there are no office hours, the works may consume more than just eight hours a day, and those freelancers or start-up owners could not even have time for themselves or their loved ones, which can have detrimental effects on their mental health. In conclusion, due to the flexible schedules and a more stable financial background, more professionals are changing their career toward being self-employed. However, this type of employment also engenders several negative effects, including financial insecurity and mental issues.