Some people think the best way to solve trafic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport 24 hour a day, 7 days a week. Is it good or bad, to what extent do you agree or disagree.

Several Individuals have an opine that to solve clogging on streets authorities should operate free transportation system across the cities on 24/7 basis. It will create lots of issues for authorities as in night times criminal will use it for crime purpose. Providing security to women, senior citizens and kids will be a major challenge. The cost of providing free transport will be recovered from taxpayer, which will result in increasing taxes on salaried class. I whole heartedly disagree with the notion that free transportation should be provided on 24/7 basis. To begin with, Traffic congestation is a major issue in urban areas. During peak hours It is difficult to reach destination on time. To improve it, as per some people suggestion that transportation should run on 247 basis. However, it will create law and order situation and the police will not be able to control criminal activities in night. providing security to women, elderly and infants will be major challenge for law enforcement agencies. For example, In New York subway station are famous for random shooting incidents making it unsafe for commuters in night. Furthermore, the cost of providing free transportation will be a huge burden on Authorities. They will impose new taxes on taxpayers to fund the projects. It will be financially unviable for the state to operate free transportation in cities on 24/7 basis. People will misuse the facilities and mishandled metro trains, buses. It will create problem for authorities in maintaining the quality of transportation as a safe and reliable transportation. For example, In Mumbai, government has try to run free 24/7 transportation but it got negative feedback from commuters. In conclusion, although Free transportation on 24/7 basis can be a solution to traffic congestion still it poses challenges which are difficult to overcome. It is not viable option to run free transportation on 24 / 7basis just to solve few hours of traffic congestation. I wholeheartedly disagree with the notion that government should run 24/7 free transportation.