A growing number of people rely on restaurants and convenience food (frozen food and packaged meals) rather than home-cooked food to supply most of their meals. What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating this way?

It is a common belief that eating out and fast food are much more convenient in the city life. However, there is a more persuasive argument that cooking at home is not only healthier but also lower cost and it does not take much time for cooking if we know how to select a smart menu for weekdays. On the one hand, frozen food or packaged meals are the best solution for people who have a busy schedule and often finish work late. Having ordered meals can help to save time for cooking, cleaning kitchen stuffs, these busy people may have more time for chilling out and playing with their children. For example, instead that a busy mother has to spend about 3 hours for prepearing, cooking and serving the dinner, she can use that time for spa, take a good care of herself or follow her children's homework. On the other hand, most of fast foods contain a high calories and unhealthy fats which cause bad affect on health for long term. Additional, having dinner out often costs more than two times more expensive than self-cooking at home. From my experience, I often go to supermarket on weekend to choose green vegatables and fresh meats, then seperating them into small portions and preserve them in the fridge, whenever I want to cook, all ingredients are ready and cooking time does not take much time. Having dinner together creats create the cohesion between family members, aslo a happy time for us to chill out together. In conclusion, while there are some advantages of using packaged meals, it is evident that home-cooking brings more advantages for health, budget and family cohesion.