Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Heavy traffic congestion problems have been surging due to increasing car ownership over the last 3 decades. In my view, that statement is totally right since it can be proved by air pollution from cars'emmision and the government should construct public transportation systems and build a friendly commuter for walking and cycling. Air pollution is one the toughest problems for many urban areas because vehicles releases thousands of emissions into the air which could be damaged local health residents. For example, a constant stop-and-go- go in traffic jams leads to higher fuel consumption and increases releasing carbon dixode diode into the air that people staying around breathe polluted air which may cause lung cancer or related to lung diseases. The government should focus on building public transportation for residences such as extending the grid of buses, and highway trains to decrease the demand for private cars. For instance, when commuters can easily access public transport, they choose to use it as a usual moving solution. Consequently, they don't have any private cars due to the tough parking slots nearby. Additionally, building safe bike lanes and pedestrian-friendly structure can also reduce reliance on cars while encourage people to do more physical exercise like walking, and cycling daily to their destinations. It could reduce a million of dollars in medical bills and save a clean environment for inhabitants. Car ownership demand has increased for the last 30 years, it leads to humans face with heavy traffic and air pollution from vehicle emissions. Consequently, the government should start to upgrade the public transportation systems as well as build safety routes for commuters.