Fresh water has always been a limited source in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand, what measurements can governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Having access to drinkable water has been always an issue for some regions due to irresponsible consumption and pollution has been emitted to the ecosystem. To my mind, the best solutions could have been an average limit per individual as well as a purification system improvement to lift up the amount of pure liquid. Fortunately, it seems possible to take under control by the government’s and citizens’ action. To begin with, we should have a look at the very obvious cause of demand increase. The overconsumption has to be diminished by advertisement campaigns and people responsible behaviour. As an example, we can see how quickly people in Europe changed their minds in terms of wasting water and other utilities. The authorities provided relevant information regarding sufficient amount they should use. Over 20 per cent of clean water usage has been reduced since the official ads released on the TV and the radio. They simply introduced the basic instructions how-to-use washing machines, dishwashers and other devices. On the other hand, even if administration and customers pay attention to responsible consumption, it is not enough to tackle the problem. The better quality of water we get, the higher our chance to provide it to every corner of the world. The reality is that tons of hydro resources are suffering from a range of pollution emissions. As a measurement, people should focus on purification system improvement. It could be effective for both governments and individuals. While first could investigate an innovative approach to pipeline and sewage treatment plant overhaul, others might keep in workable conditions those systems they already have. To conclude, even though there are many aspects which make this issue complex, we must enhance the situation whatever it takes. It is understandable that some people blame others, however, society should work on it with a coordinated effort.