In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks.

In this present time, CCTV is widely used in public areas in many cities for crime prevention. Whereas some humankind consider this measure to be an invasion of privacy, I contend that the advantages of using video cameras surpass its disadvantages. On the one hand, there are several major reasons why some humans feel that security systems should not be used in common areas. Firstly, they argue that surveillance cameras observe people without permission. As a consequence, the public experiences less freedom and constantly feels watched by the higher authorities, causing increased pressure and negatively impacting their mental well-being. In addition, without a transparent and effective supervisory mechanism, surveillance systems may be utilized by relevant organizations for illegal or unethical purposes. Furthermore, the data collected by these systems is at risk of leakage due to hacker attacks. If this information falls into the hands of criminals, both individuals and society may suffer serious consequences. On the other hand, the benefits of security cameras outweigh as compared to drawbacks. By this, I mean that videos in public areas give a sense of security to everyone. Tacitly, criminals think once before doing a crime publicly. Resultantly, criminality has decreased in comparison to the past time. For instance, countries like Canada and China have facilities of cameras in gathering spots. Thus, police can easily catch criminals and this leads to a low rate of gangsterism. Moreover, cases of bombing, harassment and robbery nowadays are reducing. As a result, If any person tries to attempt these kind of activities, it caught by cops easily with the use of video cameras. To conclude, security cameras do not give privacy according to some folk but I opine that the advantages of these are more as compared to disadvantages like lowering criminality and lawbreaking.