Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and wether they are married or single some people say that this information may be relavant and useful.Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your openion.

The question whether companies should be asking applicants about their personal life is a very arguable one. This essay will review both positive and negative aspects, as well as provide arguments on why I personally believe that private information should not be discussed or required during an interview. Asking about a person's interests and hobbies is not necessarily a bad thing. I agree that it can give us an image of what the person likes to do and help us form a better connection. With this information we are able to create a better image of what the person is like and potentially make new friendships. However, when looking for a job, these interests might not be as relevant as other important factors. To illustrate, we should not be judged on whether we like to read books or watch TV in our free time as it generally does not interfere with our work performance. In contrast, interviewers should focus on asking work-related questions and about previous work experience therefore, evaluating us on the knowledge that can be useful to their company. Additionally, I completely disagree with employers wanting to know about a person's relationship status as this is a very private part of our lives. Being married or single does not have any effect on how well we do our work and therefore, should not be discussed during the initial meeting. For example, in many cases, married women tend to get discriminated for wanting to have kids and start a family, resulting in them having a significantly lower salary when compared to men. Consequently, asking about our private life and partners should be prohibited, as it can lead to injustice and unfair advantages. To sum up all the arguments that have been stated in this essay, while wanting to know someone's interests and hobbies may be benefitial in getting to know them better, asking private information regarding relationship status should not be neccesary.