Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam’’ How true do you think this statement is? What are measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

In recent years, the sum of vehicles has increased dramatically, which is why most city areas around the world have huge traffic jams. Personally, I totally believe that it is actually true in our society, and states have to quickly solve this big problem. To begin with, it is true that increased car ownership leads to traffic congestion, which has numerous negative impacts including increased air pollution, longer commute times, and greater stress for commuters. Although people have the freedom to purchase as many cars as they need, urban areas, in particular, face severe traffic problems due to the high density of vehicles, exacerbated by limited infrastructure that's unable to cope with the surge in car usage. For example, in Kazakhstan, a number of cities do not have normal-sized roads that are narrow and people continue to buy cars even though they are aware of this problem. Thus, in my opinion, it is a huge issue for society and the state. On the other hand, there are several steps that government could take to solve the problem of people who tend to acquire many cars and use them. Firstly, government measures to mitigate this issue could include upgrading public transport services, and promoting alternative methods of transport such as cycling or walking. Secondly, policies such as higher fuel taxes and limited parking availability in city centres can also discourage car use. If individuals have more than one transport, they will pay taxes for them, and it sounds good. Nevertheless, governments also can solve this problem by investing some amount of money in order to manufacture new adequate roads for cars and the other vehicles. In conclusion, although there are plenty of big traffic jams in the urban areas around the world due to the increased number of car ownerships, people are able to discourage this problem by improving the public transport systems, building new roads and setting taxes for new cars. Accordingly, I think that it is possible to do it.