Some people get into debt by buying things they do not need and are unable to afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Some people have the habit of purchasing products by their debt, which they do not require and are even unable to purchase. One of the reasons for this behaviour is some people consider buying goods as a form of showing status. Awareness campaigns can help to control this habit of buying unnecessary goods. There is a common belief in our society is, the more products or luxuries you have, the more you will be valued and respected by others. Therefore, people even borrow money to compete with others in buying stuffs, and represent them as rich in front of others. Another important reason for purchasing goods is buying things gives them a sense of satisfaction or pleasure, which they find suitable for their mental peace. For example, women in the UK, generally buy a lot unnecessary clothings and make-up items, and about 60% of them they never wear. The measure can be taken to prevent people purchasing unnecessary items is awareness campaigns. The government should come forward to encourage people about not buying things unnecesary or out of their affordablity, because buying unnecessary items leads to producing unnecessary products, which is harmful for the environment. Several other non-government and social welfare organizations should come forward to promote this campaign, because it would help not producing unnecessary products. For example, in the USA, public has become aware of not purchasing unnecessary things only because of the campaigns of not buying unnecessary things. To conclude, buying stuffs unnecessarily or out of affordability might be a reason for luxury to some individuals. Only awareness can help people to encourage regarding this matter.