Some people feel that it is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos. Other people say that there are benefits for the animals and for humans. Discuss both sides of this debate, and give your personal view.

Keeping animals in captivity continues to be a controversial topic, and there are many social discussions about it. Most people love animals, and there are strong views on both sides, which I will consider now. On the one hand, some people think there is no reason to keep animals in captivity. They believe that animals need to live in their natural landscape, and not in a human-made place, where they become an attraction for tourists, who often don’t respect them. Moreover, in the nature there is silence, whilst in zoos animals are surrounded by people laughing and shouting at them so they probably suffer. Lastly, if animals are fed by humans too long, they will lose their ability in searching food and once they are free, they won’t be able to survive. On the other hand, others believe that there are benefits for the animals in being captured. In fact, animals in zoos are often sick and humans help them with their illness. Then they leave the animals free when they are healthy again. In addition, keep an animal in captivity is a way to protect him, especially for some endangered species. This creates are also advantages for researcher, who can study closer animals behavior and understand how to help them when they are in the wild. Overall, I believe that keeping animals in zoo as a tourist attraction is always wrong and that if they are captured to be help because of an illness they don’t need to be shown to people. Animals can stay in zoos as long as they are properly staffed and maintained.