Many people today are worried about young children using video games. What problems might these games cause for children and society as a whole? How could these problems be reduced?

With the rise in technology, video games have grown in popularity in the past decades. They are most common with children and teenagers, who have a lot of leisure time as compared to an adult. This essay will address the problems these games might cause and their impact on society as a whole. Firstly, long exposure to video games can cause harm to one's eyesight and can weaken it over time. To elaborate, the blue ray emitted by screens has proven to cause eye damage. Furthermore, video games can be a distraction to children which can easily become an addiction which can cause them to get distracted from work. Moreover, video games could also expose children to violence and inappropriate content from an early age, which could make them more impulsive. For instance, I have seen children pay for in-game cosmetics without having their parents' consent, which has made them mad. Lastly, video games can cause society to be more lazy and inactive as video game addiction prevents people from interacting with the physical world. People who are addicted to video games often find it hard to articulate their feelings, which could make them anti-social and have a huge impact on society. Parents can prevent these problems by simply restricting their children's screen time and encouraging them to play sports and make friends. Parents can also introduce their children to different hobbies which can be of use later. To conclude, I think that as a society, we should spread more awareness of the downsides of video games and encourage people to limit their play time and have a healthy social life.