Since the 18th century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace. With today's technology this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over the years, machines have been replacing manpower in the areas of work, this has made work much easier for mankind since all the hard work is being done by machines. However, some see this development as a major contributor to unemployment around the world. This essay agrees with this view because, one machine can do a job faster and more efficiently than humans. Nowadays, the use of machinery has become more popular in the workplaces because they can do a job faster than human beings. For instance, in construction a company requires five people to dig a drainage trench in one day but with the existence of machinery they would only need on person to operate an excavator which can dig the same trench in less than three hours. This shows that machines are more faster than humans, therefore, companies prefer aquiring machines than hiring people. More so, computers are more efficient than humans, they produce clean work with no mistake provided all settings are done correctly by simply following a template. For example, in a bricks manufacturing company they use machines to mix cement and pouring the mixture into frames. The proces is so tiring if done by humans, but letting it done by machines makes the job easier, machines dont get tired they work until targets are reached. This has surely made humans less needed in these factories because machinery perform better. Apparently, with all these developements the existance of technology in the workplace has seen a lot of people loosing their jobs because one machine can do work for five to ten people in a more faster rate. In conclusion, the development of technology has caused massive unemployment around the world due to speed and efficiency of machinery as compared to that provided by humans.