High job demands, stress and sense of commitment are among the main reasons people go to work when they are ill. This way they accomplish important tasks, but may infect others or get some serious health problems themselves. In your opinion should people go to work if they are sick? Support your point of view with relevant examples from your knowledge or experienc

Nowadays, the stress or the commitment to a job are the principal reasons of sick people attending their workplace. In this way, they can get their task done and do not put in risk their position in their job. However, this result in a loss of productivity of that worker and most important can become a health risk for the coworkers. Firstly, a ill worker can not fullfil their duties in the same way that a healthy worker. The sick employee will be in distress and as a result, the attention to the detail of that worker will be less. Also, in some risk professions, this will become a safety breach that can result in job accidents. For example, a sick lorry driver can be distracted by the pain or the distress, resulting in a truck accident, involving injured victims and loss of money in reparations for the victims and loss of ware. Secondly, going to work beeing sick can become a public health issue in a fast pace, spreading diseases among the coworkers. A classical example of this is a worker with influenza in an enclosed space like a office. This worker can spread the disease among the other people in the workplace, and as if that were not enought, the coworkers can infect their own families, spreading the infection out of the working place to their own homes. In conclusion, going to work beeing sick is a risk for the ill worker and the people who works among that worker. Resulting in loss of productivity of that worker that can become a lost of money for the company. Also can be a health problem among the workers of the place, that can be infected by the coworker, resulting in spreading the disease among the population.