In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it's a positive or negative development?

The popularity of second hand clothings has been rising amongst the youngsters nowadays as they have cheaper price than new clothings and matched with purchased ability of the younger generations. However, this phenomenon will give a negative impact because it will affect local clothing brands sales due to the price of used clothings. Firstly, second hand clothings get much attention from the young people because it has very low price and almost same quality with new clothes in stores. The used clothing sellers are targeted adolescents as their main customers because the young people have lower purchasing power than average people where they are dominated by students and fresh graduates who do not have much income. As a result, the youngsters like to purchase second hand clothings in order to keep updating with the current trend. This phenomenon can be seen from several central markets of used clothings, such as Pasar Senen in Jakarta or Pasar Kodok in Bali which still have a big number of visitors, especially in long holidays. Despite its popularity, the used clothings become the biggest threat for local brand textiles as they mainly come from overseas. Price of the used clothings are in the same range with the local brands, making the local textiles cannot compete with the used clothings where they are imported in a mass volume. Hence, the local brands have a big struggle to survive from bankcruptcy. In conclusion, the second hand textiles gain more popularity as they can afford the young customers. However, the popularity should be controlled wisely because it threats the development local brands to survive in the business.